Life’s Little Kicks…

Image representing Apple as depicted in CrunchBase

There come times in one’s life, where you realize that you have been colossally stupid. Today is one of those days.

When I was 18, I received around $3,000, which I spent quickly on a car and stuff I didn’t need. The car was a good investment, because it worked, which the one I had before didn’t have going for it. I had also considered entering the stock market, and one of the companies I was looking at was none-other than Apple.

This may sound strange, but it’s true. I understood what Steve Jobs was capable of. He was the first person to make computers a thing girls thought was cool. The iMac changed everything. I know, it sounds cliche now, especially since companies now use that line for everything they do. I knew that if he could make computers cute, he could do anything, and I wanted a piece of it. I was enough of a geek to know these things, but “normal” enough to completely ignore them. I ended up buying things like clothes, a stereo system, TV, etc… Things any 18 year old thinks are really important.

Looking back today, I want to go back in time and punch myself in the face.

Had I invested $1500 in October of 2000, I would now have over $90,000 worth of Apple, without ever investing another dime in it. The stock was at $9.78/share then, and is now at $601.10/share as of close yesterday (Mar-19-2012).

Steve Jobs shows off the white iPhone 4 at the...

$1500 / $9.78 = 153 full shares, plus some change.

153 * $601.10 = $91,968.30 today.

God am I stupid!

I guess the lesson is: trust your instincts, because you never know which one could pay off in the end. If anyone has a time-machine, I’ll deal you in if you take me back so I can invest in Apple, Google, and a few others.

7 thoughts on “Life’s Little Kicks…

  1. I know…doesn’t hindsight frustrate you sometimes? I often think about if I had taken all the money I earned senior year of high school and invested into a business, how much I would have now. It’s ok—tomorrow is a new day!

  2. I had the same issue with Dell. Back in 1992 or so I paid $2,000 for some 386 DOS PC at 16mhz. I should have bought $2,000 in stock because I think it would be worth $100,000 or so today. I called the wrong 800 number. Instead of Sales, I should have asked for Shareholder Relations. But I have good news to report, the $100,000 would have debauched me somehow.

    • Not necessarily… $100,000 isn’t really enough to destroy someone, at least I don’t think it is. You might be tempted to sell the stock off and go buy a Lamborghini, but most people would buy a house instead.

      If I had $90,000 worth of Apple, I would probably leave half in Apple to keep growing, and diversify the other half to hedge against the Apple bubble burst. Without Steve Jobs around to prevent them from following trends, they will eventually stop being innovative and return to the old ways of tunnel-visionitis that they used to have.

      I’m just annoyed because that would have been the best investment I could have ever made, as it would represent a 6,000% return. If you can point out another stock in that time-frame with a similar return, I’ll buy you a cup of Starbucks coffee.

What do you think?

